[RESOLVED] When to use the SkookumScript* classes/component?

Hi, I was wondering if someone could explain a bit about when I should (or shouldn’t) be using the SkookumScript* classes - i.e. SkookumScriptClassDataComponent, SkookumScriptMindComponent and SkookumScriptBehaviorComponent

I’m just getting started, but so far haven’t touched any of those SkookumScript* ones, rather have been adding :sk: functions directly on to my existing user-defined classes and components (typically c++ ones, sometimes the blueprints that inherit from the c++ ones).

I’ve read a thread on them - SkookumScriptClassDataComponent, SkookumScriptMindComponent and SkookumScriptBehaviorComponent - who is who - but I’m having trouble picturing the situations where I’d use those rather than directly extending an existing class with :sk: functionality.

It seems like something worth getting my mind around before going too much further!

Hi - as you read in the overview, each of the components has a different purpose.

The most important type of component is the SkookumScriptClassDataComponent. It exists because by default, SkookumScript does not know when an Actor (or any Entity[=UObject]) get constructed or destructed in the engine. So for example if you created a BP class Hero derived from let’s say Character and give it a SkookumScript constructor that constructor would never get called, unless a SkookumScriptClassDataComponent is added in its Blueprint. Then, upon construction of that Actor, the SkookumScriptClassDataComponent also gets constructed which invokes the SkookumScript constructor. Same is true for the destructor. The SkookumScriptClassDataComponent also allows you to assign a pure SkookumScript class to an Actor, e.g. a SkookumScript class SuperHero which is derived from Hero that has no BP class equivalent.