New to unreal and skookum

Hi everyone.

Im moving over to unreal from unity engine, so i have no experience with c++ or blueprints just some basic c#. I was going to just do everything in c++ but then i came across skookum in the market place.
My question is how much more simple is it? And does it loose any functionality because of simplicity?

Regards
Lima

I have been building a game for about 10-15 hours a week after my day job for about 1.5 years now, and I would strongly recommend you start with learning Blueprints before you add the complexity of C++ or SkookumScript. I am just now learning Sk, but I can tell already that the way it hooks into the workflow in UE would have made no sense to me a year ago. There’s a lot going on behind the scenes, and you will have to know where different parts of UE get executed to figure out how Sk bolts into it. You’ll also need to know the class schema before you can replace C++ or BP code with Sk. BP’s are capable of doing entire games, so use them to learn UE.

My personal opinion is that Sk is an extremely compact, very expressive language which augments visual programming with text-based coding. As a long time programmer who has used 20 different languages, I just don’t enjoy visual programming. It takes me longer to wire up the building blocks than to simply type in C++ code. That’s what drew me to Sk. It’s kind of in between in that it’s easy to prototype like the BP’s without the complexity of compiling C++. The fact that Sk can change code while the game is running means the iterative debugging process is way faster too. I don’t know yet how much code will move from C++ to Sk, but I do know that a huge amount of the code in my BPs is getting moved to Sk because bunches of blocks will condense down to a few lines of code in Sk plus debugging is a breeze in comparison to BP debugging.